(C)oups! More Good News…

Yeah OK so the attempt at a pun in the title is pathetic. I am, however, once more at a loss for more sensible words. As most people know, Turkey went through a coup attempt just a week and a half ago. And, this was preceded by another terrorist attack just a couple weeks prior. And, as some of the readers of this blog may remember, I am/was planning to spend this coming fall semester as an exchange student in Hacettepe University in Ankara, Turkey.

All of this news comes after my home university’s announcement (see previous blog post) to quit being a real university and instead shut down their language, literature, and cultural studies. So yeah, it hasn’t exactly been the best summer work-wise.

Below is a screenshot of Hacettepe’s announcement after the failed coup attempt. I thought they did a rather nice job with it, especially if you read between the lines even just a little bit.

image

Credit: screenshot from Hacettepe University’s webpage at https://www.hacettepe.edu.tr/english/

I was, to say the least, less than motivated to continue my work after the University of Vaasa’s announcement but I felt like I had just started to slowly get my motivation back and was starting to excitedly browse through the very interesting curricula that Hacettepe’s departments of British Cultural Studies and American and English Culture and Literature offer for doctoral students when the news of the most recent terrorist attacks, followed by the failed coup attempt, came. After that, it’s been downhill again, motivation-wise. I’ve been racking my brains for what to do since, and have come up with two potential ways to deal with the situation I’m presented with:

  1. Say fuck this, and screw going to Turkey. I don’t need the hassle (and even possible risk), and in the current situation I can’t easily justify spending an extended period of time away from my family. I mean, what’s the point anyway? What good is all the international experience and learning (provided that all the star academics and teachers haven’t already been sacked or, worse, jailed) if my career in the academia, at least living in my hometown, is not gonna happen anyway? Or,
  2. Be (delusionally) optimimistic, follow my original plan and just go ahead. What’s the worst thing that could (realistically) happen anyway? Hell, maybe I’ll end up having a long career in the academia after all, and maybe going to Turkey to gain precious international experience and study under influential scholars in my own field will be the most valuable professional experience of my life? And, maybe I’ll have a great time visiting running events and rock climbing destinations, while also gathering interviews for my upcoming (?) PhD Thesis? And maybe my family will also come to visit me, and we’ll all have a completely safe and pleasant time together? Right?

I’m honestly not sure what to do, and which way things will go. I’ve considered both the option that maybe I’m overreacting to recent news, and things will all be all right in the end. Or, maybe I’m underreacting when I still even consider the idea of going to Turkey anyway. I really can’t tell. Anyway, I guess I should try to get some work done. And, if I end up going with the more optimistic of the above two options, maybe I’ll even continue blogging about stuff. We’ll see. Thanks for reading, in any case.

Featured image (not visible in mobile theme) credit: cnn.com

Leave a Reply

