Back towards the Track

The last couple of blog posts have been a little negative but I thought I’d write a quick little post on a slightly more positive note.

Since the last posting, I decided that since I’ve started on this academic track, I might as well see it through, try to make the most of it, and see what happens once I (fingers crossed) have the thesis done. With that in mind, I should take advantage of all the fun opportunities that this particular kind of life offers.

So, I decided that I am going to Hacettepe University to do my exchange period, as planned, and am also busily preparing for my two presentations at the upcoming ESSE conference in Galway, Ireland, in two weeks. My expenses for these trips are covered, so they seem like the kind of once-in-a-lifetime chances that I should take, and quit moping around wallowing in my first-world problems.

firstworld

Credit: memegenerator.net

I made some inquiries about the recent situation of life and academics at Hacettepe and was sufficiently assured by the answers that I decided to go for it. I will, of course, closely monitor the situation and make decisions accordingly.

I am also looking forward to the upcoming trip to Ireland. And, I just this weekend got a little extra boost when I was asked to speak in an upcoming event in another Finnish university, based on an apparently interesting previous presentation of mine. Unfortunately the date conflicts with my exchange period but it’s fun to even be asked. So, let’s just try to keep truckin’ along and see what happens.

Featured image (not visible in mobile theme) credit: uncp.edu

Leave a Reply

