Stone and Resistance

While I was studying ecocriticism in Turkey, professor Oppermann introduced us to Jeffrey J. Cohen’s amazing book Stone: An Ecology of the Inhuman. I’m currently browsing the book again for my upcoming article on material ecocriticism and the male mountain athlete’s embodied relation to nature. The book provides an absolutely fascinating look into the materiality and “liveliness” of stone mainly through the lens of a medieval scholar. My own project obviously has nothing to do with medieval times but I’m still gonna draw on this book, as it is such an inspiring work.

Unknown

Credit: amazon.com

While trying to find out more about Cohen, I realized that he has a very public presence and that he, among other things, is involved in the blog In the Middle where they have recently published interesting stuff that brings together medieval scholarship and current events. That’s how I also got acquainted with the recent statement they (the medieval scholars/social activists) made last month where they condemn in strong words the actions of the new US president, aka the Orange Clown. The statement can be read in full here. I’m a little late to the party, I know, and the statement is in any case such that it’s kinda like preaching to the choir if you already are an academic or otherwise against all the bad things in the world but I nevertheless though that the text was very good and recommend reading it.

Anyway, just wanted to get that out of my system and spread the word. I like taking these mini-breaks amidst the more “serious” work and will now resume with that. ‘Til next time!

Featured image (not visible in mobile theme): a pic of what I thought was an interesting rock formation in Geyikbayiri, Turkey. I’m not a geologist (I just like to climb rocks) so I don’t really know what’s going on here but I thought it looked nice.
Leave a Reply

