New Academic Position

I’m currently traveling, so haven’t been able to post new stuff but I just found out a few days ago that I got the temp job as a salaried doctoral student at the University of Jyväskylä that I applied for back in June, so had to announce the great news here!

The job lasts from August 1 to December 31, so I’ll be quite busy figuring out the details and practicalities of my new job when I get back from traveling after mid-July.

I’ll definitely post more when I know more but in the meantime, here’s a few random pics from my trip. I know this is not a travel blog but I guess since I’m studying mountain sports and ecology, these are not too far off topic. They show, among other things, some of the havoc that global warming, and especially the record-breakingly hot early summer in the Chamonix valley, has had on the state of the Alps’ glaciers and the snow- and ice-based routes to the summits of the mountains.

I’ve also had some interesting wildlife encounters during the trip. The pic below shows an Ibex, which are a quite common sight in these mountains. However, I also took part in a mountain running race that took its runners through a night and day in the surprisingly wild Maritime Alps.

IMG_9235.JPGDuring the night, I had an exciting several minutes when an unidentified animal jumped from the bushes to the trail behind me and started to approach me. All I could see in the darkness was a pair of bright yellow eyes in the light of my headlamp. After making myself look big and making lots of noise it finally jumped back to the bushes. I don’t know what it was but it sure made staying awake through the rest of the night easier.

Then later on during the day I spotted two wild boar cubs by the side of the trail. I didn’t see their mother anywhere, so I quickly made enough noise to scare them far off and, hopefully, towards the direction of her. The idea of standing on the trail between a wild boar mother and her offspring was unnerving to say the least but, again, provided an adrenaline rush that propelled me onwards for several KMs.

So that’s about it for the current adventures. I’ll be back with new posts and hope you’re all having a great summer!

Featured image (not visible in mobile theme) credit: genengnews. com

P.S. Edit. two minutes after posting: wordpress informed me that this was my fiftieth post so far, so it’s nice to have such a festive topic for it!

Leave a Reply

