Men and Nature: Hegemonic Masculinities and Environmental Change

Geez I’m working with a fashionable topic!

so hot right now.png

Credit: threedeepmarketing.com

The Rachel Carson Center, one of the epicenters of ecocriticism in Europe, just published their newest Perspectives issue, which focuses on men and nature. The issue contains a Foreword by THE masculinities scholar Raewyn Connell, and an interesting Introduction, too.

2017_menandnature_cover_image

Credit: Rachel Carson Center.

I’m so busy with my own writing right now that I haven’t had time to read more than the foreword and intro but I will definitely read the rest of it next week when I can finally take a break from the book chapter (on men and nature, yay!) that I’ve been working on. The whole issue of Perspectives can be downloaded here.

IMG_9631

Pic of a coast guard boat coming to pick volunteer oil spill response unit members off an island in the archipelago where I live. A couple posts back I wrote on how I often feel like just doing research around environmental issues doesn’t really feel like doing “enough”. Well, I did recently participate in a joint oil spill exercise as part of a voluntary contingent organized by the WWF so maybe that counts of practical activism of some kind? I’ve been taking part in training sessions organized for the volunteer-based “Öljyntorjuntajoukot“, or, “oil spill preparedness and response team” or something along those lines, and they had now organized an exercise in the UNESCO World Natural Heritage Site which I live close to. It was interesting participating in this exercise along with several NGOs and governmental agencies from Finland and Sweden. Now, I’ve never actually been a huge fan of the WWF and their corporate greenwashing scheme but I figured that this exercise is a case where practicality trumps ideology. And, there’s of course a huge discussion to be had around why there’s a reliance on volunteers and government response in the event of a (most likely) private business spilling oil but that conversation’s too long to be had here. This is already getting to be the longest picture caption ever… Aaaanyway, women are statistically much more likely than men to be aware of environmental issues, so I was happy to not be the only male in the volunteer group. Incidentally, Connell discussed environmentalist men in her  early work, and the possibility of environmental work as a form of a kind of “exit politics” from hegemonic masculinity is also discussed in the intro to the Perspectives issue. 

In other news, the webinar with Ursula Heise that I advertised in the last post is now fully booked, so registratios are closed. Next week’ll be busy preparing for that and I’m very much looking forward to it.

And, I managed to write one more scholarship application. Fingers crossed…

IMG_9687.JPG

Aaaand, I also finally got a confirmation that I get to keep my old supervisors when I now continue my studies at University of Jyväskylä, so all’s well on that front, too. Now, back to writing!

Featured image credit of the Green Man: pinterest.com

Leave a Reply

